Alfesta Awards and Trophies

Alfesta Awards



There are two major trophies/awards at Alfesta:


  • The Harry and Joan Lewis Spirit of Alfesta Award:
    Awarded for most involvement and “spirit” during an Alfesta.
  • The Ray Sharp Observation/Navigation Run Memorial Trophy:
    Presented to the winner of the observation/navigation run at Alfesta.


Below is a brief summary of the history behind each award …




At Alfesta 1991, Marysville Victoria, the inaugural Spirit of Alfesta Award was presented. This award was originally made by Peter and Lyn Heriot of Insurance Design Australia Pty Ltd, the then brokers for the Club’s Insurance scheme.

Following Harry Lewis’ untimely death in 1993, and in recognition of his contributions over many years to a united National Alfa Romeo Owners Club, and to Alfesta as an event, the award was named in his honor.

The purpose of the award is to recognise and reward the person (or couple/family) who best exemplifies the spirit of Alfesta. Unlike the Bob Gardner Trophy, it does not depend upon overall performance or success in all (or any) events, just on an overall level of participation and (what other word is there ?) Spirit, over the whole of Alfesta. The decision as to the winner of the award is made by the National Council members attending Alfesta.




This is the most recent Alfesta trophy which was introduced to honour the memory of the late Ray Sharp – tragically amongst those who died at Port Arthur in 1996.

Ray loved life and the Club and the camaraderie it provided, developing friendships readily in all divisions. His generosity of time and interest and support to anyone seeking it was ever present – as was his ready smile and good humour.

Ray joined AROCA in 1981 serving on the Victorian committee in many capacities including President 1985/6. He was awarded Life Membership of the Club in 1991, an honour he valued immensely. He was a strong supporter of the National Body serving as National Vice President in 1990 and was a committed advocate and attendee at Alfesta, which together with his love of the Montreal are reflected in this perpetual trophy that is awarded to the winner of the event – irrespective of their attendee status.



For the full list of winners to date, visit the club national website:

More information: